Lessons From My Son: Holding Hands

“The LORD directs the steps of the godly. He delights in every detail of their lives. Though they stumble, they will never fall, for the LORD holds them by the hand.” Psalms‬ ‭37:23-24‬ ‭NLT‬‬

In my MUMs Bible study a few weeks back, I meditated on these verses. Immediately, the words the LORD holds them by the hand stuck out to me. 


Lately, I’ve really clung to the truth that my relationship with God is intimate. He holds my hand, He is my shelter, He comforts me, He will help me. All of those truths have been very calming and encouraging to me as I wade through the new and challenging parenting season that is toddlerhood. 

I meditated on those verses again a few days later, and a different image popped into my head. An image of Brooks pouting at an intersection (usually more like flailing and screaming, but I don’t want to embarrass him on the internet)  because he didn’t want to hold my hand. 

And I thought, how often do I try to avoid holding God’s hand?
This life is so hard, and God offers to guide me and help me when I’m facing the busy traffic of life. He promises that He will. So why do I, like Brooks, throw a tantrum right in the line of imminent danger (traffic), instead of holding His hand?

Perhaps I, like Brooks, think I know better? Or I think that I have a fuller picture of what I’m going through than an all-knowing God? Or that God doesn’t tell the truth? Or that He isn’t as good as He says He is?

For me, I think it’s mainly retraining myself to stop trying to do things out of myself. It never works doing life on my own because I am limited. Because I am not Jesus, my patience, attention, and energy level is limited. But God promises that He will help me through this life. And He promises to equip me for what He is called me to. He says He will equip me to parent Brooks because He has called me to be his mother.

Our God longs to direct my path, to help me, keep me out of the dangers of oncoming traffic. He longs to do the same for you. 

He gave us free will and therefore, we have the choice to let Him hold our hand and guide us. I want to choose to let our God of love hold my hand and guide me because I trust that He tells the truth.

One response to “Lessons From My Son: Holding Hands

Leave a Reply

