Contemplating My Humanity

Up until the last few years, I never celebrated Ash Wednesday or thought much about it. This year, I am doing the She Reads Truth lent study and this devotional from Tuesday got me thinking.  Particularly about my humanity.

Being human is hard. It’s messy. We have a desire for peace, security, and love but the world around us just doesn’t meet that desire. Our world is broken.

I am broken. I have physical limits. I cannot go without food, water, sleep, conversation, etc. for very long. I begin to feel the effects of my humanity. When exhaustion hits, I just cannot deal with a toddler tantrum. Even the marketing crew at Snickers knows, you’re not you when you’re hungry.

Beyond that, I have a bent towards pride, anger, selfishness, fear, and anxiety. Like I said, being human is messy. I long to be humble, slow to anger, selfless, courageous, and content. I see my brokenness and I want to be healed. 

Ash Wednesday is only the beginning of Lent. At the end of the Lenten season, we have Easter! The celebration of God who, to the praise of the glory of His grace, made a way to overcome our limitations, made a way to perfect us. 

We get to celebrate and dance and praise the Resurrection of Jesus Christ. When Jesus overcame death and humanity, He overcame death and humanity for all those who believe.

We get to celebrate and dance and praise the in-dwelling of the Holy Spirit. Every believer has the Holy Spirit refining and perfecting them from the inside out. 

Photo from SheReadsTruth.com

Leave a Reply

