What I am Praying For After the Election

Today, I am praying for our country, its current leaders and its newly elected senators, governors, president, and other politicians. I am praying that God reveals Himself to each one and that they each come to have a deep and meaningful relationship with Jesus Christ. I pray that they come to realize what God means when He commanded that we “Love Him and Love People.” God is a God of transformations, just look at Paul, the author of many New Testament books. He was a killer of Christians before Damascus Road when God revealed himself to Paul and transformed Paul’s life.

I am praying for unity among believers. I think that perhaps God intended that despite our differences, we would chose unity. Not unity in political views, but unity in the belief that Jesus Christ is our Lord and Savior. Unity in the belief that our God is a God that can remove and raise up kings (Daniel 2:21). Unity in the belief that Jesus is the King over all, regardless of who is president of this nation.

I am praying that we can show those feeling hopeless today and those that feel hopeful today. I hope we all come to realize that true hope in Jesus Christ. “At some point, we as Christians have to come to grips with the fact that the answers are not in Washington, D.C. They are not and they will not be. Hope and change doesn’t come from the government; it comes from the gospel. … Government’s good and it’s important and we need to respect that, but government does not have the hope of the world.” -Bryan Clark, in this sermon

I am praying that we build bridges. This article is about mothering, but I think Ann Voskamp could easily be talking about politics when she reminds us that, as Christians, we should be building bridges instead of fences and the best way to do that is to answer kindly and to bless others.

And for the next month, I will be praying for Donald Trump, specifically. I commit to praying for three areas of his life each day and I will blog after 30ish days about every area that I prayed for.

What are you praying for?

Annie

 

Leave a Reply

