THINGS THAT BRING ME JOY #3

Sometimes I get caught up in a romanticized view of yesterday and of tomorrow. I forget that only today, only right now, are truly mine. I can’t do anything to change the past. Can’t do anything to predict the future. I only have this action. This minute.

I often daydream about the sweet memories of Brooks as a newborn. His tiny cry, his instant comfort in my arms. I often drool over our future, when Brooks has siblings and they are having sword fights in the back yard. I forget that being the only one who could comfort Brooks was so exhausting in the moment. I don’t think about how I might be so exasperated at a house full of littles. Looking back, I remember the sweetness. Looking forward, I envision the sweetness. What if, this minute, I just soak in the sweetness of each of Brooks’ firsts instead of feeling the exhaustion of a toddler? What if, in this moment that I am in, I choose to cherish the sweetness. I choose joy.

324H.jpg

Here’s where I’m seeing joy today:

  1. This playlist is the perfect ‘chill’ for these autumn days.
  2. The noise this angry frog makes.
  3. Reminders that you are here. That you are alive. I read this post on dying (I know, not super joyful, but stick with me..we have to fight for joy), and I was covered in goosebumps realizing the intensity, reality, and awe of death.
    The article reminded me that I am still here, I am still alive, and that death will come. I need to truly live each day building the legacy I want to live. Because my legacy may be built on a life of only last 25 years, a few months, and a few days…and I can’t even guess about the length of your life. How do you want to be remembered? What will your legacy be? And how can what you do in the next week, next day, next moment build that legacy?
  4. The awesome partnership between a high school cross country team and an animal shelter. Taking the doggies out for a good run, creating some furry friendships, and helping some pups find a forever home. I love it.
  5. Wednesday night meals at church. Not cooking and still eating delicious homemade meals is the best!
  6. Instead of making a to-do list, sometimes I make a did-it list. I write down everything I do that day and revel in my productivity. I may not have been able to get that one thing on my to-do list done, but I did this whole list of things. I made nourishing meals for my family, I unloaded the dishwasher, I read a few uplifting words, I said I love you. I actually did a lot. And that makes me smile. It’s all about reframing.

Click on the Category JOY for more posts like this and be sure to subscribe, so you get an email each time I post.

2 responses to “THINGS THAT BRING ME JOY #3

  1. Yes I love this! Joy is a choice AMEN! And I also agree about living in the moment, it is so hard sometimes with little ones but so important! Great post Annie!

  2. Such a cool idea about having an I did it list. I have never heard of that but it makes so much sense to leave your day on a positive note of how productive you have actually been when it feels like you got nothing done!

Leave a Reply

