Mama’s Cold Brew


The hardest part of this recipe is the wait time! 

I’ve been making cold brew for about 3 years. I started out following The Pioneer Woman’s recipe but I soon dropped the recipe and used my tried and true method: dump a few things and hope for the best. This last time I made it I tried really hard to pay attention to the amounts I was dumping so I could post the recipe here!

First, I get out my Pyrex Measuring Bowl and pour in half of a bag of coffee (1/2 of a pound ish). I used this kind the last two times and it’s delicious!

Then, I pour water over the coffee to fill the bowl, throw on the lid, and put it in the fridge. Now, wait for 8-48 hours. The Pioneer Woman says 8 hours should suffice but sometimes I just don’t have a chance to get to it for a day or two. It’s never turned out badly!

Okay, next step. Get yourself a mesh strainer, some cheesecloth or paper towels, and a smaller Pyrex measuring cup

The strainer goes over the small Pyrex and the paper towels go inside the strainer.

Pour your cold brewed coffee over the paper towels in the strainer. When your measuring cup gets full, pour it into a storage container (i.e. mason jars, or cute and clean juice bottles).

Continue this until you are pouring mostly grounds into the strainer. Then, squeeze the grounds to get out every last caffeinated drop! 

Now the good part: making your iced coffee! I always do 1 part cold brew to two parts other liquid since the cold brew is so strong. You could do water, milk, almond milk, creamer, or whatever you love. I usually do almond milk! Add a dash of cinnamon and a couple drops of vanilla extract to take it to the next level.

Leave a Reply

