Whole30: My 1st Week

On July 31, I started the Whole30, a nutritional reset involving thirty days of no added sugar, dairy, legumes, grains, alcohol, or many of the weird ingredients that are common in processed foods! Can you believe it? Each of my meals before July 31 contained one several of these things! It may seem crazy to do a Whole30, but for me, it seems necessary. I have struggled with my weight for a decade (!!), since I was just a middle schooler. And this needs to stop – the fad diets, the emotional eating, the yo-yo-ing (is that even a word?), and the need to finish the whole bag of chips or box of cookies. I hope to gain self-love, energy, and “food freedom”.

Let me just tell you…the first three days were HARD. Day 3, especially. Oh Day 3 was the worst. I had headaches all day, was irritated at everything, and worst of all, I was exhausted! But then I found this ‘timeline‘ of the average whole30, and I realized thankfully that this could be over soon. My KILL ALL THE THINGS days just came a little earlier! Phew. I am normal. Surprisingly, I haven’t yet been craving too many things that I can’t have..just an Oreo, one single Oreo.

Okay, let’s get into what I’ve been eating!
My normal breakfast is eggs & a banana or if I’m lucky, I’ll go for this delicious Sweet Potato Hash. And believe me, if you try this recipe, it will change your life. It is delicious and I think I might have to go make it before I can finish this post!
Nom Nom Paleo Sweet Potato Hash

Okay, I’m back. My typical lunch is leftover meat from the night before & some sauteed veggies! My favorite mix of veggies is zucchini, yellow squash, and mushrooms. Or if I’m lazy I’ll make some eggs and add some homemade spaghetti sauce..my very own egg-hetti or spag-eggi.
Grilled Zucchini & Mushrooms

My dinner is pretty much the same as my lunch. Once, I got really inspired and made Citrus Carnitas. I had a really heavy hand squeezing my limes, and it was way too citrus-y, but follow this recipe and you’ll be golden!
Citrus Carnitas

I’ll try to do another update next week!

Leave a Reply

